No new photos

November 17, 2008 at 4:15 am | Posted in Uncategorized | Leave a comment
Tags: , , , , ,

One of the goals for this blog was to put up one photo every single day [though, I acknowledged at the time that might be too ambitious].  I’ve really been slacking lately, though. 

The weather has been mostly uninspiring.  A long time ago when I was working on the yearbook staff at college, someone asked me how I consistently shot rolls of sharp, high contrast frames.  I told him, I only take photos when it’s sunny.  I still prefer to do so [although partly cloudy is usually more interesting than a cloudless day].  And morning and evening are a lot more interesting than mid-afternoon because you get long shadows!  Morning is a particularly good time to shoot landscapes in Anchorage, because hardly anybody is an early riser here, so you can go about your business with less interference.

One shouldn’t wait around for the weather to turn.  It gets frustrating.  I don’t know how many times I’ve looked out the window, seen perfect conditions for that photo I’ve been thinking about… ran around getting ready as quick as I can, and on the way there it clouds up!  If I’d waited for good weather I wouldn’t have taken any photos in Anchorage last summer.

I need to take inspiration from Jonathan Richman, who said, “We need to learn to play with our guitars broken, and it’s raining.”  OK, then… Monday through Friday this week I’m making good on my photo per day pledge!

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

